

Annex 4

The Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders: FIDH and OMCT joint programme





Activities of the Observatory

The Observatory is an action programme, based on the conviction that strengthened co-operation and solidarity among defenders and their organisations, will contribute to break the isolation of the victims of violations. It is also based on the necessity to establish a systematic response from NGOs and the international community to the repression against defenders.

With this aim, the priorities of the Observatory are:

- a) a system of systematic alert on violations of rights and freedoms of human rights defenders, particularly when they require an urgent intervention;
- b) the observation of judicial proceedings, and whenever necessary, direct legal assistance;
- personalised and direct assistance, including material support, with the aim of ensuring the security of the defenders victims of serious violations;
- the preparation, publication and diffusion at a world-wide level of reports on violations of human rights and of individuals, or their organisations, that work for human rights around the world;
- e) sustained lobby with different regional and international intergovernmental institutions, particularly the United Nations, the Organisation of American States, the Organisation of African Unity, the Council of Europe and the European Union.

The activities of the Observatory are based on the consultation and the co-operation with national, regional, and international non governmental organisations.

With efficiency as its primary objective, the Observatory has adopted flexible criteria for the examination and admissibility of cases that are communicated to it. It also targets action based interpretations of the definition of "Human Rights Defenders" applied by OMCT and FIDH.

The competence of the Observatory embraces the cases which correspond to the following "operational definition": "Each person victim or risking to be the victim of reprisals, harassment or violations, due to its compromise exercised individually or in association with others, in conformity with international instruments of protection of human rights, in favour of the promotion and realisation of rights recognised by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and guaranteed by several international instruments".



The Observatory has a system of communication devoted to defenders in danger.

This system, called Emergency Line, is accessible through:

E-mail: observatoire@iprolink.ch

Tel: + 33 (0) 1 43 55 20 11 Fax: + 33 (0) 1 43 55 18 80 (FIDH)

Tel: + 41 22 809 49 39 Fax: + 41 22 809 49 29 (OMCT)

Animators of the Observatory

From the headquarters of FIDH (Paris) and OMCT (Geneva), the Observatory's Programme is supervised by Antoine Bernard, Executive Director of FIDH and Eric Sottas, Director of OMCT. The programme managers are: for OMCT, Fernando Mejia, Deputy Director of OMCT, Julia Double, programme manager of OMCT, Clemencia Devia Suarez, Programme Officer of OMCT, and for FIDH, Juliane Falloux, Head of the FIDH's Desk for Eastern Europe, and Catherine François, Programme Officer of FIDH. With the assistance of Anne-Laurence Lacroix, Carin Benninger-Budel, Nathalie Mivelaz, Elsa Le Pennec, Roberta Cecchetti, Ketty Leibovitch, Annik Malburet, and Kifle Araia of OMCT, as well as Sara Guillet, Emmanuelle Duverger, Alexa Leblanc, Isabelle Brachet, Eleni Petrula, Gaël Grillot, Simia Amadi Thoolen, Isabelle Chebat, Tiphaine Havel, Marie de Coune, Laure Catillon, Marie Desjonqueres, Marion Jully, Liza Finelli and Carmel Gabbay of FIDH.

The Observatory's activities are assisted by the local partners of the FIDH and the OMCT.

Operators of the Observatory

FIDH

The International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH) is an international non governmental organisation for the defence of the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948. Created in 1922, it includes 114 national affiliates throughout the world. To date, FIDH has undertaken more than a thousand missions for investigation, observation of trials, mediation or trai-



ning in some one hundred countries. FIDH enjoys consultative status with the United Nations, UNESCO, the Council of Europe and observer status with the African Commission of Human and Peoples' Rights. The International Board is comprised of: Sidiki Kaba, President; Catherine Choquet, Driss El Yazami, Anne-Christine Habbard, Claude Katz, François-Xavier Nsanzuwera, general secretaries; Philippe Vallet, Treasurer, and of Dobian Assingar (Chad), Akin Birdal (Turkey), Hafez Habu Saada (Egypt), Karim Lahidji (Iran), Lucie Lemonde (Canada- Quebec), Siobhan Ni Chulachain (Irland), Vilma Nunez de Escorcia (Nicaragua), Jose Rebelo (Portugal), Cheikh Saad Bouh Kamara (Mauritania) Francisco Soberon Garrido (Peru), Raji Sourani (Palestine), Thierno Sow (Guinea), Alirio Uribe (Colombia), Michel Tubiana (France), Vo Van Ai (Vietnam), Vice-Presidents.

OMCT

Created in 1986, the World Organisation Against Torture (OMCT) is currently the largest international coalition of NGOs fighting against torture, summary executions, disappearances and all other types of cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment. It co-ordinates the SOS-Torture network that is made up of more than 200 non-governmental organisations which act as information sources. On a daily basis, its urgent appeals reach more than 90'000 governmental institutions, non-governmental institutions, associations as well as other pressure and interest groups. This urgent information is dispatched, in the name of the information source, using the fastest and most appropriate means possible. Two delegations of the Secretariat have been appointed to promote activities in North America and Europe. OMCT has either consultative or observer status at ECOSOC (United Nations), International Labour Organisation (ILO), the African Commission for Human Rights and Peoples and the Council of Europe.

Its Executive Council is composed of: Pierre de Senarclens, President (Switzerland), Denis van der Weid, Vice-President (Switzerland), Olivier Mach, Vice-President (Switzerland), Anne-Marie La Rosa (Canada)*, Domingo Dougan Beaka (Equatorial Guinee), Dan Cunniah (Maurice), Elisabeth Reusse-Decrey (Switzerland), and Anselmo Lee (South Korea)*. The Delegates Assembly is composed of twenty four members representing each of the geographic regions. A consultative bureau made up of people specialising in the field of law and international relations advise the management bodies.

^{*} resigner